2010: In the Books

Had a pretty good year as far as reading goes. I finished 40 books in all (not counting graphic novels), a good mix of fiction and nonfiction. Quite a bit of crime fiction snuck into my hands this year, most notably the last few books in Joe Lansdale’s fantastic “Hap and Leonard” series. I’m happy to say there are two more books in that particular set coming in 2011, including a novella called Hyenas in just a few weeks. If I had to choose one book (or series) from this year’s stack to recommend, Lansdale’s quirky buddy books would be the ones.

A note about my personal Top Ten, which appears below – I make this list based on books that were new to me. Some of these were publised in 2010, some before. I’m constantly mixing the old with the new, so I’ve found this is the best way for me to do it. Also, my list is unusual in that it’s ten books, but only five authors are represented. Does this mean I need a little more variety in my reading? Perhaps. But it also means I was reading works by five guys who, in my eyes, are at the very top of their respective games. Who are they? Take a look:

1. Lesser Demons by Norman Partridge
2. Full Dark, No Stars by Stephen King
3. The Last Deep Breath by Tom Piccirilli
4. Bar None by Tim Lebbon
5. Johnny Halloween by Norman Partridge
6. Rumble Tumble by Joe R. Lansdale
7. Shadow Season by Tom Piccirilli
8. Leather Maiden by Joe R. Lansdale
9. Captains Outrageous by Joe R. Lansdale
10. Last Exit for the Lost by Tim Lebbon

I have no doubt that everybody who stumbles across this blog has heard of King. To a lesser degree, many of you probably know who Lansdale is. I’m betting Lebbon, Piccirilli and Partridge aren’t quite as well known. That, in my opinion, is a shame. If you’ve not read anything by those three, make it a 2011 resolution to change that. You won’t be sorry.

If you want to see a list of everything I read, check out the reading list tab the top. As always, I’ll keep a running list of my literary advenures in 2011 going here on the site as well.

Leave a Reply

