Looking back, looking ahead

Been a busy couple of months – not busy updating this website, obviously, but busy nonetheless. I’ve been itching to get back here and write about some of the stuff coming up that I’m looking forward to, but haven’t had the time. I don’t really have the time today, but I couldn’t stay away another minute longer.

So, indulge me if you will as I give you a whirlwind tour of what I’ve been doing, what’s coming up, and a couple of things I’m anticipating.

I’ve been slowly building the content over at my Spec Fiction blog for Examiner.com – some cools interviews recently with guys like Jonathan Maberry, who recently adapted the remake of The Wolfman in novel form. I’ll be adding those links to the nonfiction page over the next couple of days. Also, I’ve joined the staff of Horrorworld as the site’s interviewer. I’ll be talking with a new author each month, beginning in April with Roger Ma, author of The Zombie Combat Manual. I’ll make a not here as soon as that one goes live.

As always, new reviews are going up regularly at Dark Scribe, including a belated look at Stephen King’s Under the Dome. I’ve got several in the pipeline there – and will have a look at King’s just-announced surprise novella, Blockade Billy, appearing there as soon as my review copy arrives.

Movie-wise, I finally saw Black Dynamite after months of anticipation, and had a ball with it. I’m looking forward to the upcoming remake of A Nightmare On Elm Street, although not as much as I’m looking forward to the Blu-ray edition of the original, which comes out April 6. If the HD format does for Nightmare what it did for the original Halloween and Friday the 13th, then I’ll be a happy horror fan.

Here’s the trailer for the new Nightmare, just to whet our appetites:

From everything I’ve read, the people behind this remake are looking to take Freddy back the real (and surreal) horror of the first film, and away from the wisecracking anti-hero he eventually became. I hope they get it right, and I hope that the actual movie isn’t simply the exact replica of Wes Craven’s original that the trailers suggest it might be. Jackie Earl Haley seems the perfect choice to fill Robert Englund’s shoes, though.

Okay, that’s it for now. Hopefully it won’t be two months before I’m back again.

Leave a Reply

