Hello, October!

My favorite month has arrived.

October. Cool weather. Autumn leaves. The smells of burning leaves, and apples and cinnamon. Pumpkins. Pumpkin pie. Pumpkin spice lattes. Horror movie marathons on channels like AMC and Turner Classic Movies. Halloween. Halloween.  Halloween decorations. Candy. Shorter days and longer nights. I love it all.

It’ll be a month-long celebration here, as I blog about the scary movies I watch and the scary books (and stories and comics) I read. I might write about Halloween night, and why it’s one of two nights of the year when I really, really miss being a child. I might also slip in a little bit about what it’s like to now experience this time of year through the eyes of my own children. There’s no solid plan in place, so stay tuned.

Vincent Price and his reporter friend.

Vincent Price and his reporter friend.

I’ll start today, though, with a little write-up about my first scary movie of the month: From A Whisper To A Scream, aka The Offspring.  It’s an anthology movie, four stories and a wraparound segment featuring Vincent Price as a librarian sharing the mysterious past of the town of Oldfield with a reporter. Vincent Price? Laurence Tierney? Clu Culager? Martine Beswicke? Okay, decent cast. Directed by Jeff Burr of Stepfather 2 and Leatherface: Texas Chainsaw Massacre III fame. Not exactly classics, but they had their moments.

This one does not. Unless you count bad moments. It has a lot of those. The dialogue is terrible. The acting is beyond terrible – one story, set in the Civil War, has acting on par with those weekend reenactments that are so popular here in the South. The special effects are occasionally effective, but mostly awful. The “twist endings” – pee-yew. This one definitely earns a slot in the “so-bad-it’s-fun” category. Which, when it comes to horror movies, is just fine by me.

Leave a Reply

