Farewell Summer

Summer is almost at an end. Of course, here in the Deep (Fried) South, summer weather will continue well into September, sometimes spilling over into my beloved October as well. But summer as we recognize it – those three heat-hazy months of swimming, grilling, cutting grass, no school, sweating, and summer blockbusters – is almost at an end.

This has been an unusually busy summer at the cinema for me. I caught pretty much every summer movie I wanted to see: Star Trek, Terminator: Salvation, Drag Me To Hell, Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince. (I know that’s not a lot, but truthfully, there wasn’t a ton I was dying to see in theaters this year.) Of those, only Star Trek really blew me away, and that’s probably because I’m no Trekkie, and I went in with my expectations low.

But now, as we near the end of the dog days, I’ve got back-to-back weekends where the two movies I’ve been looking forward to the most this summer – and, truthfully, this year – are coming out.

August 21 brings us Quentin Tarantino’s war flick Inglourious Basterds:

“And cousin, business is a-boomin’.” I can’t wait.

August 28 sees Rob Zombie’s “family film,” Halloween II:

I know people had problems with Zombie’s first take on John Carpenter’s classic slasher. I had problems with it. Zombie had problems with it, too. But the more I revisit it, the more I find to like. And this one looks like Zombie is going right for the jugular. Gritty, raw, and unrelenting. Again…I can’t wait.

Will these two films bring a somewhat lackluster summer cinema season to a blazing finish? Or will the disappointment continue? I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

