It’s The Most Horrible Time Of The Year

The three-month stretch at the end of the year is always my favorite. Cool weather comes, with cold not far behind it. Football (college and pro) is going strong. And my favorite holidays are just around the corner.

 

First up is my favorite: Halloween. This holiday, more than any other, draws out the kid in me. Maybe that’s because as a kid I spent a lot of time watching scary movies and reading (and making up) scary stories. And I’ll be doing the same this year.

 

Another website I frequent is running a “13 Horror Movies In October” challenge. The goal is to watch 13 or more scary movies during the month. A lot of the participants will watch way more than that; I’ll be lucky to hit 13. But I’ve rooted around in the movie stacks at home and loaded up the Netflix queue, so I’ll have plenty of stuff to choose from over the next several weeks.

 

Some of the titles in consideration are:

 

Mother of Tears

Prince of Darkness

Tomb of the Blind Dead

Evil Dead

Evil Dead II

Videodrome

The Brood

Dracula A.D. 1972

Frightmare

C.H.U.D. (Cannibalistic Humanoid Underground Dwellers)

Driller Killer

Nightmare Before Christmas

 

I’ll mix in some of the usual “classics” as well, including A Nightmare on Elm Street and at least one of the Friday the 13th movies. And, of course, there will be the traditional Halloween Night double feature: It’s The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown! and Halloween.

 

So excuse me over the next month as I get my geek on. I plan to watch a lot of movies that I haven’t seen before, and I’ll probably post a brief review of each them here.

 

Oh, and if you have any suggestions for the list, drop me a comment here.

Leave a Reply

